Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Madmax18 is offline Cadet

FTO problems and a ton of stress

Ok here is a run down on what my story is i just graduated the acadmey i was assigned a FTO for 35 days. Upon meeting my coach i found out he is close to retirement. First thing he tells me is they must be pretty desperate for FTO's if they made him one So i try to go with it, in one week of work we have only made one traffic stop. When i get an incident he sits there and tells me what to charge and type on my report....yesterday i recieved all of my reports back to do over because the investigations were not thorough enough. I do not know what to do, i feel like im between a rock and a hard place, everyone i graduated with is making plenty of stops and learning the ropes of the job and i am learning where the good sleeping spots are and how to pawn incidents off, im also learning how not carry out full investigations. I recieved a comment yesterday at the end of the shift from another officer that pretty much asked why i wasnt checking my citations over before shift change, when i told him i had no citations for 8 hours he gave me a dirty look and said boy they showed you good in the academy. Im a hard worker by nature and when someone thinks that im a slacker it eats at me and im afraid because of the attitude of my coach the rest of my dept thinks i wont work.

Sorry for the rant but i have no one else to talk to, My friends dont understand, neither do my family.

Astor is offline Officer
    That happens. Some FTOs are drafted because of their time on the job, or because there are no volunteers. That's when you know things are desperate (like he said).