Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Dennis Guest

How hard is it to get into the FBI?

How tough are they? I have a four year degree, have been at my current employer for seven years (banking industry) will be bilingual in Spanish before I even apply (I'm working on this now), and have a perfect credit history and a fairly clean background (DWI in 1990). I don't know if I stand a chance or their applicants are of a higher quality than what I would have to offer. Thanks

donnie999 is offline Officer
    Dennis,

To be honest with you who cares how tough it is to get in. You have the bachelors degree which is a requirement. Apply to you local field office. What do you have to lose??

Don
    "When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth."- Sherlock Holmes

Dennis Guest

FBI

I see your point, I just don't want to waste my time. Maybe they're hiring Rhoades Scholars or something.
    Dennis

nyccyn is offline Rookie
    Go ahead and apply! There is no downside the worst they can say is no. The FBI is always looking for the money trail. With your banking background that may help you.

justwondering Guest
    All the agencies are a strange mix of super qualified personnel and those who were simply in the right place at the right time.

Are you super qualified? No. But that doesn't mean you don't stand a chance. I wouldn't quit your day job in reliance of getting the job (nobody's chances are THAT good). But what would it hurt to put in an app?

PJM
    PJM is offline Rookie

Re: FBI

Originally posted by Dennis
    I see your point, I just don't want to waste my time.
    I don't think you are looking at this the right way. This is not the gig for you if you are into instant gratification as you will "waste your time" in the process, and then some. Even if they do reject you, BFD, you are in good company as they reject legions of applicants.