Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Air Force OSI with a computer science degree?

I'm applying to become an officer in the Air Force, and OSI is one of the jobs that is open for me to apply to right now. I have a degree in Computer Science and currently work as a software engineer. This article: http://www.osi.andrews.af.mil/news/s...p?id=123269326
    Makes me very interested, but in reality, how likely is it that I would actually work on on things like computer crime investigations and computer forensics? Would I just get stuck wherever they want me, regardelss of my background? Or is it likely they would want to get use out of my education and experience?

My main concern is that, while investigation and law enforcement sound exciting, I'd really like to go back to the computer industry once I'm out.

DBrasco is offline Rookie
    Quote Originally Posted by TryingForAFOTS View Post
    I'm applying to become an officer in the Air Force, and OSI is one of the jobs that is open for me to apply to right now. I have a degree in Computer Science and currently work as a software engineer. This article: http://www.osi.andrews.af.mil/news/s...p?id=123269326
    Makes me very interested, but in reality, how likely is it that I would actually work on on things like computer crime investigations and computer forensics? Would I just get stuck wherever they want me, regardelss of my background? Or is it likely they would want to get use out of my education and experience?

My main concern is that, while investigation and law enforcement sound exciting, I'd really like to go back to the computer industry once I'm out.