Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

jameswp is offline Cadet

US Army 2LT with many questions

Good evening everyone,

First I'd like to say that I wish I found this forum a long long time ago. My name is James P and I'm a 2LT in the United States Army. I recently graduated from USMA and will forever be grateful for the experience and knowledge I gained from West Point.

I am currently stationed in South Korea as a Brigade Medical Operations Officer. I wanted to post this thread because...honestly, I just had so many questions that were answered in previous posts but then again many posts went on to different topics that did not really help me find my answers.

As an officer in the Medical Service Corps, you all might be wondering what I'm doing here. To be honest, I thought MS would be an awesome field to join but always had MP or IN in the back of my mind. Now that I'm in the Army as an MSC officer, I feel like I've made a huge mistake. Don't get me wrong-I love being in the Army, but now I do feel that going the officer route was a bit over-hyped. More importantly, I've started to question my role and even desire to stay an MSC officer for the next 7 years (until I'm eligible to ETS). I've been doing some research as far as CID / CI / PSYOPS / CA , and was wondering if anyone had experience or actually resigned their commission in order to join CID or CI. I am not looking into ADSOing for a job, but recent events occurred in my life that got me thinking. I have to stop thinking about what "looks good" or "what others may want" (parents, friends, superior officers, mentors). I have made the decision to pursue what I want to do and that is LE/CI.

If there is anyone on this forum with any type of information or experience in actually resigning their commission to get the job they wanted, please post or PM me.