Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

mr. mac Guest

heat rashes f/ wearing vest

Anybody get these annoying heat rashes on your chest & sides brought on from wearing your bullet proof vest? I seem to ge them nightly and now wear a polyester shirt under a cotton shirt under my vest. That's 2 shirts which sucks esp when it's 90 degrees out. Even then, I still get rashes just not as bad. Anybody got a better solution?

gaboy is offline Lieutenant
    I've seen shirts advertised in police type magazine for shirts that look like mesh and are supposed to wisk away perspiration. This may help. They are somewhat expensive but if it solves your problem, it may be worth the price.

modareguy is offline Sergeant
    Those high priced shirts in my opinion are a complete waste of money. In the over eight years I have been a cop and wearing a lovely vest, the best thing I have found to have under my vest is a regular short sleeve t-shirt. Go to Wal-Mart and get a bunch of the thicker t-shirts made by hanes or fruit of the loom. DO NOT spend a penny on a bunch of those "five in a pack for $5" super thin pseudo shirts you see always on sale. Hanes (beefy-t is the name on the inside tag) are the best 'thicker' shirts IMHO. They absorb the sweat and prevent the rashes you are speaking of (and the collars don't stretch out of shape so quickly). We get alot of hot humid days in Missouri, so I can honestly say I have been there and done that. Each shirt set me back $3-5. Actually they were on sale not long ago for $3.77 at wal-mart for the fruit of the loom. And I have seen some hanes beefy-t shirts at sam's club for around $5. I call them my vest shirts because each one is strictly for wearing under my vest and is good for one use before washing. The only down side is that the collar starts to stretch out of shape after a year or so (I like a tight collar / looks more professional). Once it's worn out I use it as a car polishing rag...