Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

USPIS recruitment open

Looks like the USPIS is accepting applications again. check out their website, looks like they just started advertising it today.

What do they look for?

Anybody out there know if they lean more towards former LE Experience? Is the length of their process similiar to other Fed Agencies--Forever!!!!!!!!!

JS

I took the test a couple of weeks ago. They said that the whole process from the test to getting hired should take 6 months. I wouldn't hold your breath though. They lowered there standards recently so I qualify now. I am a police officer and that wasn't enough before. It is a very conpetitive position. You have current federal 1811's applying for it. The test was easy. Next is an assesment center. I am sure if you have law enforcement experience it will be pretty easy. It is a situational test which all police officers should be able to handle.

Does anyone know how they do thier first POD selection? Do you just get sent somewhere or do you have at least a little input?

Does USPIS have an office of preference program in the event you are sent a less than desirable place and someday want to return from where you came or closer to home?

When I took the test I was told that you pick three locations. They said they try to give you one of them. I don't know how long you have to wait to transfer if you don't like your duty location.

You list three choices on where you want to be located. If there are vacancies, they will try and place you there. I would guess that the majority of people get one of their three choices.

By the way, don't be fooled by the written test. There is nothing easy about the assessment center. About 50% of the applicants fail, including experienced police officers.