Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Question psychology degree and FBI, any suggestions?

Hi my name is Nick and I am new to this forum. I am a college junior majoring in psychology because it interests me and because I thought it would be good for my future goals of a career in law enforcement. My ultimate goal is to be an FBI agent but I know I am pretty far away from reaching that goal. I could graduate next Fall and go into local police the folowing spring which I have planned on doing. I am also going to apply for DEA because they have no experience requirements past a college degree. I definitely want to continue school if that is would make me more appealing to federal law enforcement agencies, but it will be difficult if I am a full-time police officer. I have thought about doing Peace Corpes to learn another language, like Arabic in Jordan. But, I know that will be difficult and I would really like to be a police officer now. I have considered either going to law school or earning my Ph.D. in psychology part-time while I am a police officer. Any thoughts about what I should do? I am 21 with little job experience but very interesting in a career in law enforcement. My first year of college was poor (1.7 GPA) because I was playing baseball and did not know my future goals then. I now have transferred and my past 2 years have been a solid 3.0 GPA. If anyone has any suggestions for me to get looked at by the FBI, DEA, Marshals, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks a lot.
    NICK T

Look into the U.S. Postal Inspection Service. They have recently relaxed their entry level requirements and are now, for the time being anyway, accepting college graduates with no experience.

http://www.usps.com/postalinspectors/welcome2.htm

I, too, was a psychology major in college. I got my MS in behavioral analysis, and was in a doctoral program in epidemiology for 2 years before working in research for CA Department of Corrections.