Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

NOT throwing in the towel...

I found out this week that even though LE agencies across the country are needing recruits, and I have a college degree, a spotless criminal and personal history, and security and LE-support experience, it can still be a hard thing to get a sworn LE job. So far I've been rejected by almost every Federal agency I have applied with (based mainly on experience, its hard to compete at 22 in the Fed system w/ no military or sworn background); I resigned from one agency I was actually hired by, a decision based on nothing more than me basically being scared of the police academy (even I know thats stupid)...a decision that I regret, was the wrong one, and still haunts me. And this week, I dropped out of the MPDC cycle after being told I'd be DQ'd on my eyesight by the Medical Section (long story, but I have 20/200 and was told there was a waiver of the 20/100 requirement if I wear contacts, guess I was wrong...no way I'd be able to read the 20/100 line without my contacts or glasses).

Despite all this, I am not throwing in the towel on LE. I am too young, and LE is too much of a calling. Already I have started applying to other agencies. I am even looking at getting back to the agency that actually hired me. Guess this is more optimistic than most "Stress Forum" threads ought to be, but if anything, I hope someone who has been denied by an agency for whatever reason will not throw in the towel from what honestly is one of the best professions on earth.
    Optimist Drowns in Half-full Tub

Check into LASIK bro. You should have asked MPDC about it. They might have given you a waiver or put you on hold until the procedure was cleared up.

Don't know your financial situation but it's an awesome option and I would not be in an LE academy right now without it.