Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

US Probation Officer (Pittsburgh, Erie, Johnston)

Recently applied for this position (to all three offices) and would like to hear from someone who has insight of the US Probation and Pretrial Services Western District of PA office. Is the approach more LE oriented or social work oriented? Firearms, handcuffs, etc.? Do PO's make arrests of is that the role of the USMS? Insight from someone who has worked with these individuals would be appreciated. Insight from an actual USPO would be greatly appreciated!

I applied to Johnstown and Pittsburgh. Erie is a little far for me. Not sure about philosophies of each court. From what I've read, they vary from district to district. Do you work in the field now?

Yes, I work with Juveniles.

Same here. Crazy world.

Yes indeed.

PGH 87 PM sent

I applied as well. I work as a adult state PO right now. There were over 500 people that applied to the positions. Good luck!

I applied to the scranton office and was recently notified I didn't get that position. I was aware that the positions are very competitive, but 500 applicants is a lot more than I thought they would get.

How did you find out they had that many?

Quote Originally Posted by ga12 View Post
    I applied to the scranton office and was recently notified I didn't get that position. I was aware that the positions are very competitive, but 500 applicants is a lot more than I thought they would get.

How did you find out they had that many?
    I spoke with the hiring manager and she told me that is how many applied. She also said they probably wouldn't notify applicants until mid-october and only then it would be just to schedule a time to take a written test. Interviews probably won't be until november.

Interesting. Thanks for the info.