Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

FBI switching to 9mm?

I heard a rumor that the FBI may begin a switch to 9mm for all agents. The reasoning would be advances in bullet technology combined with better qualification scores. When I googled this I found posted on several forums that it is at least a proposal. Can anyone verify? Opinions?

I am not a ballistics expert by any means, however I have read some articles recently proclaiming that the .40 is losing popularity with LE agencies due to advances in ammo manufacturing that have made the 9mm much closer in power to the .40. Also, recruits with smaller hands and less handgun experience definitely have an easier time with the 9mm due to the lower recoil as compared to the .40.

Personally, I favor LEOs being given a range of choices for firearm and caliber, since everyone has different preferences and agents/cops should have what they are most comfortable with to protect themselves. However, budget issues and uniformity concerns tend to push agencies towards adopting one firearm/caliber for all. If that has to be the case, I think the 9mm makes the most sense since it is probably the easiest to shoot (of the commonly accepted LE handgun calipers anyway).

Looking through your bank records & garbage..
    IANTFBI (I Am Not The FBI) but to generalize, advances in load & bullet designs have made the 9mm much more versatile than it might have been a few decades ago. You can achieve roughly the same ballistics as a .357SIG with a "hot" 9mm load. And, frankly, analysis of handgun wound ballistics in "real life" targets tells us that in generally all handgun rounds are pretty crappy at quickly stopping humans... but the faster follow-ups that most shooters can manage with a 9mm can help. Market forces also make it CHEAPER (the most common handgun caliber in the western world) ad that certainly helps, too.