Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

1811 - No vet pref

I am currently a junior at a local university, my major is accounting with a pretty high GPA (3.7-3.8, fluctuates). It seems like being an 1811 is a job I would really enjoy, but it's almost impossible to be hired without veterans preference, as much as I know I would like to serve, I cannot, as I would be medically disqualified. My medical issues are nothing that would stop me from being an 1811.

Realistically, is there any chance I will ever be hired without vet pref, or would I be wasting my time applying?
    Is there anything else I could do to boost my resume?

Quote Originally Posted by taylorrobbie View Post
    I am currently a junior at a local university, my major is accounting with a pretty high GPA (3.7-3.8, fluctuates). It seems like being an 1811 is a job I would really enjoy, but it's almost impossible to be hired without veterans preference, as much as I know I would like to serve, I cannot, as I would be medically disqualified. My medical issues are nothing that would stop me from being an 1811.

Realistically, is there any chance I will ever be hired without vet pref, or would I be wasting my time applying?
    Always apply man. If your major is accounting look at the IRS-1811, FBI (I think you will need 2-3 years working experience), and etc. If I were you I would also seek out internships in agencies with OIGs. There is also the Pathways Program. Good luck man.