Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

How to Find The Best Internships?

Hello, where should I begin looking for federal internships for the best gains? I know obviously I can seek them out from the agency/force itself; however, where are other places to look? If I ask college professors/counselors, what questions would prompt them to better help me?

Basically, is there a good website that has helped anyone reach their foot in the door? I would become a Police Officer, but because my state requires 21 years or older requirement and I'm not even 20 years old yet, I am looking to kick-start towards my career. I am a sophomore in college so I also do not know if it is a wise option to seek an internship as they are focused more towards the upperclassmen (is this correct?). I only have 28 semester-hour credits.

On a side note: I am looking towards working as a security guard, at least to do something... but will that have any impact on an 1811 job? Any suggestions would help, thanks.

The best way for you to kickstart your career is going to be to focus on your studies, getting good grades and keeping your nose clean. Breaking your studies to start as a police officer or just to work as a security guard part time, unless you need the income, is absolutely the wrong path if your goal is an 1811 position. There is no benefit in terms of eventual employment as an 1811 to working security other than as a job held with nothing negative on your employment record. Hard to face up to but you are something like 6 or 7 years away from the age that is the average for successful 1811 applicants and you would do better focusing on job 1, your education, rather than a jump start.